Regret-Letting it go

pastWe all mess up sometimes, whether it’s a fall out with a friend, engaging in self-destructive behaviour, or cutting corners  at work……And with those mistakes often come the overwhelming feelings of guilt. Shame. Self-condemnation. Humiliation.

Let it go. Forgive yourself. Move on. It’s easy to say, but so much harder to do. Too often I punish myself for past mistakes, (which is in essence a bad decision, which results in regret), as if I can somehow ‘make-up’ for the wrong I have done. We walk through every day feeling less-than. We feel like losers. No good.

The hardest person to forgive is yourself. Not the friend that backstabbed you. Not the mother who abandoned you at birth. Not the ex that broke your heart. Because you know yourself and live with yourself every day. Go figure

I found that being honest with yourself, about how you’ve messed up and the consequences of your behaviour, helps to put things back into perspective. If you are true to yourself, and know that it’s something you will never do again, let it go. Beating yourself up for years to come, is not worth the time, effort and mental energy. I realised that I have to accept it for what it is. As an imperfect person, I will make mistakes in my life. I will hurt people sometimes. I will have regrets. It’s part of living in a less-than perfect world. But, I have a choice, it’s either my past will keep me in a rut of guilt and humiliation or accept it and experience the freedom to move on and enjoy the now.

3 thoughts on “Regret-Letting it go

  1. Pingback: I WON’T live each day as if it were my last. | ladymelancholy

Leave a Reply

