Self – Trust

3504915627_5f034371f81As women, we sometimes fall into the trap of letting others control us, help us make decisions. We do this for various reasons, but what I have personally discovered, is that the common cause of this is lack of self-trust.

When we lose that self-trust, we begin to listen to others, who might not always have our best interests at heart. Surely they might love us and want what’s best for us, but the truth is, they simply don’t know.

How could they know?

After all, you are the only person who know’s what’s best for you. You’re the only one who knows what you want. But if you give your power away due to lack of self-trust, who know’s where you would end up in your life.

In order for you to live your best life you must, totally, without a doubt, trust yourself. You are going to have to make hard decisions in your life that are going to require that you listen to yourself.

144011-425x282-spiritual-woman-meditatingIn about the first two years of my marriage, I was so focused on doing “the right thing”, that I totally lost my self-trust. Perhaps it was because I’ve messed up in the past, made some mistakes and took chances that didn’t work out. I needed constant reassurance regarding decisions that I had to make. I do not regret any of the decisions that I have made, it’s just that I have grown now, grown to a point where I can stand up for what I believe in, trust myself wholly. We’re now at a point in our marriage, where we’re each other’s cheerleaders, sidekicks. Where we can focus on ourselves and what’s important to us as individuals, yet still have an incredible support system.

The only way to gain back that trust, is by acting on your beliefs. If you believe in something with all your heart, don’t ask people what they think. Don’t second guess yourself because it seems scary and uncomfortable.

Nothing will help us overcome our fear of the unknown except trust in ourselves. Build a deep, loving relationship with yourself, built around trust and appreciation. No one else is going to do it for you.

Images: Google.com

3 thoughts on “Self – Trust

  1. Not so sure about that email addy I just typed in…! So agree with your blog. I’ve been doing it for years, in my marriage. Doing what everybody else does simply bcos it looked right. Right for them, but not for me. I’ve now learned to do things that are “tailor made” for MY marriage. And you know what, our marriage has transformed completely. We’re now best friends, and like you say, each others cheer leaders/side kicks! I’m doing it MY way!!!

  2. Keep rocking it girl! There’s no better feeling than knowing you’re in total control of YOU, and having the support from a partner

  3. Pingback: A Question of Trust | Just A Closer Walk With Thee

Leave a Reply

