Open Letter to my Husband

Four years ago today, we became husband and wife. At 25 and 26, we were just madly in love. We didn’t know a lot back the, but we knew one thing for certain; we belonged together. And now, four years later, I can say with absolute certainty, that the past four years has been the best of my life.

I don’t tell you this as often as I should, but I love being your wife. In fact, I am proud to be your wife. You continue to amaze me year after year with your ability to selflessly love me. Like when you insist on starting dinner (even though you’re tired), so I can have an early shower and relax.

You would do anything for me. You put up with me and my shenanigans day in and day out. Like my unexplained moodiness, and for that, you deserve more than a blog post; you deserve a trophy.

Johannesburg-20120901-00093

You were always the one telling me “you can” when I didn’t think I could, the one telling me “you will” when I didn’t think I would. You have supported me through every new venture I’ve taken on (and they change very frequently), all without blinking an eye or making me feel guilty. From pushing me to get my diploma in events management, to auditioning for Masterchef, and the list goes on and on! I would not be where I am today, doing what I’m doing, and chasing my dreams, if it were not for you. That is a fact. You have been my rock, my coach in the corner, my confidence builder, and my daily encouragement, for four whole years. Thank you for believing in me, and helping me believe in myself.

We’re on a new journey now, you and I, and there’s nobody I’d rather be learning and sharing with than you. We might be great apart, but we’re even better together.

IMG_1426

You’re an amazing friend, and even better husband. Our marriage is far from perfect,but I honestly believe it gets better and better with each passing day. Thank you for loving me the way you do. Here’s to growing old and grey together! I love you Mr M, always have and always will!

Happy Anniversary

Leave a Reply

