I want to be a Phenomenal Woman

This past weekend Mr M and I attended the 50th birthday party of an exceptional woman. And after leaving the party, I have started thinking really hard, about me, not just as a person,but as a woman.

Whilst listening to the great speeches, I wondered: What would people say about me, as a woman, when I celebrate 50?

AA-women1-300x218I might not know what will be said then, but I do know what I would like to hear. Every woman has the potential to become a phenomenal woman. It doesn’t happen overnight, but working on ourselves day-to-day will ensure that when we reach 50, we can say, “I am a phenomenal woman; and I have lived my best life”

Then you ask, what is a phenomenal woman? We all might have our own interpretations, I came across this that pretty much sums it up;

A phenomenal woman is purposeful and passionate. She is driven by her thoughts, and makes her thoughts a reality. She has imperfections, but it’s what she does with her imperfections that make her phenomenal. She is always true to herself. She doesn’t have to be a certain size or shape. Religion, age, sexual orientation, the family she was born into, or the colour of her skin do not matter. She is strong, yet weak, and struggles with her own identity from time to time. She is true to her voice and inner self. She is resourceful and honest. She is brutal at times, forcing her way into the worlds reality. (Taken from Phenomenal Women: The Empowerment of YOU Loretta A. Cella)

I feel the need to make this a personal journey. Afterall, I have 20 years to prepare for my 50th celebration.

image: google.com

Leave a Reply

